Health · Travel

New Years Resolutions

New Year Resolutions

It’s astonished that it‘s a month into 2013. So much to accomplish this year and already feel like time is running out. Year of snake is around the corner, that marks the start if my new year then.

Our common gathering topic with friends had been – “What’s your new year resolutions?” Most of them had none as they never kept it, others wished to have more peace and quiet year.   As a parent to two girls aged six and four, a quiet year sounds more like a foreign land to me. Instead, I am going to make my resolution around them.

Here are my New Year resolutions:

Learn to play piano – My 6-year-old begins to take piano lesson and she needs a “tiger mom” to practice with. Here I am, fulfilling my childhood dream! We just bought a used Yamaha U3 piano, 1982 model, ebony! (learn more about Yamaha piano http://www.markgoodwinpianos.co.uk/info/yamaha-u3-u3h-u3m-u3a-u3g) Also it”s a nice piece of addition to our living room.
YamahaLearn FrenchBonjour! Comment vas-tu? My much-anticipated trip this summer – Switzerland and France, is my driving force. It’sbeen ten years since my last visit. Like many, Paris is my favorite city in the world and I had such fond memories from last visit. Stay tune on my upcoming blog, “Paris, here I come!”Vintage Paris

I found this awesome free app to learn languages on the go – busuu (http://www.busuu.com/enc/). Spanish, French, English, Portuguese, Italian, German, Mandarin, Russian, Japanese, Polish, Turkish..…you name it. Download to my phone and my French class is in my palm.   Other app like itranslate is also very popular.busuu

Stay Healthy and Happy – When illnesses strike those who are close to you, it hits home and realize life is not absolute. Remember the inspiration message about “The Empty Pickle Jar” that most of us had heard of and keep forgetting the details but vaguely remember it’s about life. My mother-in-law relentlessly sends us every year to remind what’s important in life. Each year I watch the video, it has a completely new meaning!
The Empty Pickle Jar

If you don’t have a resolution, start one. Even it is a small thing like eating more fruit.

Happy New Year!

Stay tune on my blog , “Year of Snake Horoscope 2013”

By PL

Leave a comment